For a Chinese bachelor's degree, Brunel University London states an average of 70 or 75 — a bachelor's degree from an institution ranked within the top 559 in the 2013 网大 (Wangda) ranking requires 70, and institutions ranked below that require 75. These figures come from the university's published China entry requirements for the 2024 intake.
That is the whole of the number the university publishes for mainland degree-holders. Everything else — which faculty sets a higher bar, whether a part-time route exists, what you submit besides a transcript — has to be checked course by course.
The two numbers, and why there are two
Brunel's requirement is written as a two-tier rule, keyed to the institution rather than to the course:
- 70 average — institutions ranked 1–559 in the 2013 网大 ranking
- 75 average — institutions ranked below that
So the first thing to verify is which band your university falls into in that specific2013 ranking. Brunel's published material does not attach a subject-level adjustment to either figure, so the band determines the number.
For postgraduate applications the same structure is expressed against UK degree classifications: 2:2 equivalence for the 70/75 pair, and 2:1 equivalence for 75 or 80. One named exception appears — MSc Integrated Product Design requires a portfolio if you are applying on the2:2 threshold. Otherwise Brunel does not publish further per-course Chinese score variations.
Direct undergraduate entry
For undergraduate entry from China, Brunel's published standards point you elsewhere rather than fixing a number on the page:
- A levels and IB — refer to the official website
- Foundation courses completed in China or abroad — submit the syllabus and the grading criteria
- Transfer students and students with a failed module — case by case
- No direct entry to the final year of a bachelor's degree, and no top-up course
That last line is worth planning around early. If you are transferring from another UK university or an overseas programme, a third year is not something Brunel will confirm in advance — the published position is that it does not take final-year entries.
Postgraduate entry from a Chinese bachelor's degree
For master's applications, Brunel states the undergraduate must be at UK 2:2 or above, corresponding to a Chinese average of 70 or 75 as set out above. Brunel also states that it accepts degrees obtained through 自考 (self-study examinations) and distance education, with the same thresholds.
Which schools and faculties set higher bars
Nothing in Brunel's published China requirements names a school or faculty that raises the bar above the 70/75 structure. The published document works at university level, with the single course-level exception noted above. If you need a faculty-specific figure, that has to be read off the individual course page rather than from the country requirements page — the country page does not carry it.
Blocked and available study modes
The published material does not address study mode for Chinese applicants at all. It does not state that full-time or part-time entry is closed, and it does not confirm that either is open. Treat mode as unverified until the specific course page or an admissions answer confirms it.
English requirements
Two distinct rules apply, and they are easy to conflate.
Test scores accepted. Brunel accepts IELTS, Pearson, TOEFL and BrunELT (its in-house test).
Waiver for English-taught degree holders. Brunel states that applicants who already hold a bachelor's degree from the UK or another traditional English-speaking country are exempt from submitting IELTS. Applicants who graduated in Hong Kong, Singapore and similar regions are not covered by that exemption and must still submit an IELTS score report.
So if your bachelor's degree is from mainland China, the exemption does not apply on the face of the published rule.
How to self-check before you apply
- Look up your university in the 2013 网大 ranking.
- Note which band it falls into.
- Set your target average from the corresponding number — 70 or 75.
- Open the specific course page and check its stated requirement separately.
- Check the study mode listed on that course page.
- Confirm the English test requirement against where your degree was awarded.
- If you hold 自考 or distance-education credits, check whether your route is stated as acceptable.
What the official material does not state
For completeness, three things are absent from Brunel's published China requirements and should not be assumed:
- Per-faculty or per-course Chinese score variations, apart from the Integrated Product Design portfolio note
- Any study-mode restriction for Chinese applicants
- The specific 网大 ranking band boundaries as a named list — only the top-559 cutoff is given
Partner and agent enquiries
Brunel publishes a partner enquiry route at brunel.ac.uk/international/agent-zone for applicants going through an agent. The university does not publish fee figures, refund terms or contract terms in this document.