Skip to content
Go back

Studying Medicine in the UK: Entry Requirements, UCAT and the Application Timeline

Published:

Planning a UK medicine application means aligning three separate elements: the course’s academic entry requirements, the UCAT and the UCAS timetable. They are connected, but one does not replace another. Individual medical schools set their own rules, so Keele University School of Medicine is used below as a worked example rather than a UK-wide standard.

What the UCAT is and who uses it

The University Clinical Aptitude Test (UCAT) is a computer-based aptitude test used by a consortium of UK and partner universities to help select applicants to medical and dental degree programmes. The UCAT Consortium reports that around 37,000 candidates sit the test each year in Pearson test centres throughout the UK and worldwide.

That figure is a rounded annual count of candidates who sit the UCAT. It is not a count of available university places, people who do not sit the test or a pass rate.

UCAT format, subtests and scoring

The UCAT has four separately timed, multiple-choice subtests. The question counts and clock times below describe one listed test sitting, not a preparation period measured in months. Timed instruction sections are listed separately from each subtest’s test time.

Each of the first three subtests is reported within a 300–900 range. Candidates receive an overall total score in the 900–2700 range, while the Situational Judgement result is reported separately in Bands 1–4. The SJT result is therefore not another 300–900 score, and a total score does not replace the separate band.

When to sit the UCAT

Keele University School of Medicine states that all applicants to its medicine course must take the UCAT in the year of application. Its example is a UCAT sitting in 2025 for an application submitted in October 2025 for 2026 entry or deferred entry in 2027.

Keele also states that UCAT results are valid for one year only. That is a result-validity window, not a suggested preparation period. Because each medical school sets its own entry conditions, applicants should check the sitting-year rule published by their chosen provider rather than assuming that every school uses identical wording.

A worked academic route at Keele

A-level subject structure

Keele’s A-level route requires:

Pre-reform subjects such as General Studies, Critical Thinking and Citizenship Studies are not accepted. This is a subject-structure requirement, not a national A-level pattern or a time allowance.

International Baccalaureate route

Keele lists an International Baccalaureate Diploma route with two alternatives. The first requires at least 37 points, including ToK/EE, with a 7 or 6 in Higher Level Biology or Chemistry and a 7 or 6 at Higher Level in one of Biology, Chemistry, Economics, Maths, Physics or Psychology.

The alternative is a grade pattern of 766 in three Higher Level subjects, including Biology or Chemistry plus one of Biology, Chemistry, Economics, Maths, Physics or Psychology. These are alternative Keele entry patterns, not national IB cut-offs or time estimates.

The same page gives examples of accepted level-3 equivalents, including BTEC DDM, IB 555 in three Higher Levels or 30 points, and an Access to HE diploma. These are examples within Keele’s own route, not a national statement about how one qualification equates to another.

Keele’s international UCAT filter

Keele states that international applicants must have a total UCAT score of at least 1,950 and an SJT result in Bands 1–3 to be considered. For its five-year medicine programme, A100, applicants with a total below 1,950 or an SJT result in Band 4 are rejected automatically.

Here, 1,950 is a fixed point threshold, while Bands 1–3 form the permitted SJT range. Both conditions belong to Keele’s stated policy; 1,950 is not a UK-wide medicine threshold. Keele also says that it ranks international applicants by total UCAT score.

Application timeline and equal consideration

A practical application sequence is:

  1. Choose a medical school and course, then read its current academic and UCAT requirements.
  2. Compare your qualification with that provider’s entry route rather than treating the Keele example as a national standard.
  3. For Keele, sit the UCAT in the year in which you apply.
  4. Complete the UCAS application and submit it by the relevant equal-consideration date.

UCAS’s published 2026-entry timetable provides the following points in that cycle:

May is a month-level opening point, while the other dates are specific calendar cut-offs within the 2026-entry cycle. They are not estimates of how many months an applicant should spend preparing. The published times use UK time.

For medicine, UCAS describes the earlier date as an equal-consideration date, not an absolute final cutoff. A completed application submitted by the relevant deadline is guaranteed to be considered. A late application may still be considered, but it does not carry that guarantee. Consideration is also not a guarantee of an offer.

UCAS does not state a further policy reason for the difference on its Dates and deadlines for uni applications page. What the timetable establishes is the practical boundary: medicine reaches its equal-consideration point in October, while most undergraduate courses reach it in January. Applicants seeking the UCAS consideration guarantee must therefore complete the required process within the earlier medicine window.

Frequently asked questions

Can I use the 2026-entry dates for a 2027 application?

No. Those dates apply specifically to the published 2026-entry cycle and should not be carried forward. Check UCAS’s current Dates and deadlines for uni applications page and the chosen medical school for the relevant 2027 timetable.

What must be included in a completed UCAS application?

UCAS includes all personal details and the academic reference within the definition of a completed application. A reference is required before the application can be sent; these conditions specify what must be included, not how long preparation should take.

Does Keele’s practical-endorsement rule apply to every science A-level?

Keele states the requirement for Biology, Chemistry and Physics A-levels completed in England from 2017. It does not state the same endorsement condition for science A-levels completed before that year. The page also says that applicants taking more than three years to complete three qualifying A-levels are not considered, making this an upper limit rather than a recommended duration.

What GCSE science arrangements does Keele accept?

Keele states five GCSEs at grade 7/A, plus a minimum grade 6/B in English Language, Maths, Biology, Chemistry and Physics. It accepts Combined Science at 6/6 and IGCSE Co-ordinated Sciences double award at 66 or BB, but not the single-award option or Biology and Chemistry without Physics; these are grade and subject filters, not time limits.

Can the UCAT be paused or extended?

Once started, the UCAT cannot be paused, and each subtest has its own timed instruction section. Eligible candidates can apply for access arrangements to sit an extended version, so the published clock times should not be treated as the timing for an extended sitting.

What are UCAT Essentials?

UCAT Essentials is the free preparation material named by the UCAT Consortium. It is presented as a preparation resource, not as a guarantee of a particular UCAT score or an admission outcome.


Share this article:

Scan with WeChat to share this page

Current page QR code

Link copied

NEXT STEP

Turn this guide into your next step

Share your background, goals, and timeline so we can help you organize a clear UK study plan.

Start planning Back to EduUK